5252 N. Edgewood Dr. #185

Provo, UT USA 84604

(801) 405-9545

© 2019 Axcend.

Board of Directors

Glen Mella – CEO & Co-Founder
Milton Lee, Ph.D. – Chief Scientist & Co-Founder 
Brandon Fugal – Board Member & Co-Founder
Christopher Lee, MD – Board Member & Co-Founder

During his nearly 45-year career, Dr. Lee has become one of the world’s foremost experts in separation science, while also becoming a serial inventor and entrepreneur. Most recently, he invented the world’s first portable gradient nano-flow high-performance liquid chromatograph (HPLC), the Axcend Focus LC™ from Axcend. Previously, he also invented and commercialized three other scientific instruments:

  • a supercritical fluid chromatograph (Lee Scientific);

  • a time-of-flight mass spectrometer (Sensar); and

  • a portable gas chromatograph/mass spectrometer (Torion).

Dr. Lee has authored/co-authored over 590 scientific publications, delivered over 500 technical present­a­tions and has over 20 patents to his credit. Additionally, he has received over 25 prestigious industry awards/recognitions during his 40-plus years as a professor at Brigham Young University. Dr. Lee received a doctorate in Analytical Chemistry from Indiana University, a bachelor’s degree in Chemistry from the University of Utah, and completed post-doctoral research in Chemical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.


Milton Lee, Ph.D.
Chief Science Officer &

With a career spanning over three decades, Glen D. Mella has spent more than 25 years focused on delivering rapid business growth, profitability, and significant investor returns in the high-tech arena. His operational experience in executive leadership, product management, marketing communications, consumer retail and online channels, and global business development has allowed him to build and lead successful teams in numerous startups and multinational organizations, including Control4, TenFold, WordPerfect, Cypher, Found, Triton PCS, Dial, and Frito-Lay/PepsiCo. Mella currently serves as an Advisory Board Member for Connected Home Living, with prior Board positions at Imagine Learning, InMoment, and SHOUT TV, as well as serving as a Trustee for the Utah Technology Council and as Chair of UTC’s CEO Peer-to-Peer Forum. Mella received an MBA from Northwestern’s Kellogg School and a bachelor’s degree from Brigham Young University.

Glen Mella 
CEO & Co-Founder 
Brandon Fugal 
Board Member & Co-founder

Brandon Fugal is Chairman of Colliers International in Utah and was recognized in 2016 as an Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year (Western Region). He has also been historically recognized at #1 Agent Globally for Coldwell Banker Commercial and Executive of the Year. Prior to selling CBC Advisors to Colliers International in 2018, Fugal built CBC Advisors into the largest commercial real estate firm headquartered in the Intermountain West, with over 500 professionals in 30 offices across the country. Having negotiated over $6 billion in commercial real estate transactions, he has helped launch and establish many of the largest developments in the Intermountain West. For the past decade Fugal has served on the Utah Valley University Foundation Board, as well as on the Utah Valley Chamber of Commerce Board and Executive Roundtable. He also represents some of the largest companies and developments in the Rocky Mountain region.

Christopher Lee, MD 
Board Member & Co-Founder

Christopher Lee, MD is a practicing radiation oncologist and has actively pursued basic science and clinical research throughout his career, including publishing scientific articles in such publications as the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA), The International Journal of Radiation Oncology Biology and Physics (IJROBP), and CANCER. A co-inventor on multiple issued and pending medical device patents, he is also an active research mentor and clinical instructor for medical students and medical residents. Dr. Lee graduated cum laude in Biochemistry from Brigham Young University, and he received his MD with Distinction in Research the Saint Louis University School of Medicine. During four additional years of specialty training in Radiation Oncology at the Huntsman Cancer Hospital and University of Utah Medical Center, Dr. Lee received multiple national awards, including the Beckstrand National Cancer Fighter of the Year Resident Scholarship and RSNA Roentgen Research Scholarship. 

  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon